About the conference


The 25th International Conference on High Magnetic Fields in Semiconductor Physics (HMF-25) will be held in Warsaw, Poland from 16 to 20 September 2024 as a satellite conference to the International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS-2024, Ottawa, Canada). HMF-25 follows a series of biennial conferences, initiated by Gottfried Landwehr, in Würzburg, Germany, in 1972. Primarily focused on semiconductors and magnetic fields, the main topics of the conference have evolved with time and are now dominated but not limited to current themes related to the physics of low dimensional systems in conjunction with the application of magnetic fields.


The list of HMF-25 topics includes:

  • quantum Hall effect phenomena,
  • graphene and 2D materials, nanostructures and heterostructures including magnetic materials,
  • quantum wells, dots and wires,
  • bulk semiconductors, topological phases, perovskites,  and organic conductors,
  • magneto-transport and magneto-spectroscopy,
  • electron correlations and magnetic field driven phases,
  • spin-dependent phenomena and non-equilibrium effects,
  • novel phenomena and new techniques in high magnetic fields.


Program Committee

  1. Marek Potemski,  LNCMI/CNRS, Grenoble, France (chair)
  2. Ashish Arora, IISER, Pune, India
  3. Scott Crooker, NHMFL, Los Alamos, USA
  4. Mark O. Goerbig, Université Paris-Saclay, France
  5. Michael Glazov, Ioffe Institute, St. Petersburg, Russia
  6. Gennady Gusev, University of Sao Paulo, Brasil
  7. Piotr Kossacki, University of Warsaw, Poland
  8. Atsuhiko Miyata, University of Tokyo, Japan
  9. Koji Muraki, NTT Basic Research Laboratories, Atsugi, Japan
  10. Milan Orlita, LNCMI/CNRS, Grenoble, France
  11. Paulina Płochocka, LNCMI/CNRS, Toulouse, France
  12. Amalia Patanè, University of Nottingham, UK
  13. Jurgen Smet, MPI/FKF Stuttgart, Germany
  14. Dmitry Smirnov, NHMFL, Tallahassee, USA
  15. Emanuel Tutuc, University of Texas, Austin, USA
  16. Jiannong Wang, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  17. Nan Lin Wang, Peking University, China
  18. Uli Zeitler, HFML – RU/NWO, Nijmegen, the Netherlands
  19. Yuanbo Zhang, Fudan University, China

International Advisory Committee

  1. Hideo Aoki, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  2. Gregory S. Boebinger, Florida State University,  Tallahassee, USA
  3. Sankar Das Sarma, University of Maryland, College Park, USA
  4. Tomasz Dietl, IF PAN, Warsaw, Poland
  5. Rui-Rui Du, Peking University, China
  6. Klaus Ensslin, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  7. Laurence Eaves, University of Nottingham, UK
  8. Vladimir Falko, University of Manchester, UK
  9. Enrique Diez Fernández, Salamanca University, Spain
  10. Pawel Hawrylak, University of Ottawa, Canada
  11. Philip Kim, Harvard University, USA
  12. Klaus von Klitzing, MPI/FKF, Stuttgart, Germany
  13. Wojciech Knap, IWC PAN, Warsaw Poland
  14. Jeanie Lau, Ohio State University, MIASTO USA
  15. Efrat Lifshitz, Technion Institute of Science, Haifa, Israel
  16. Allan H. Macdonald, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  17. Xavier Marie, INSA Toulouse, France
  18. Yasuhiro H. Matsuda, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  19. Alberto Morpurgo, Université de Genève, Switzerland
  20. Robin Nicholas, University of Oxford, UK
  21. Li Pi, HMFL CAS, Hefei, China
  22. Antonio Polimeni, Sapienza Università di Roma, Italy
  23. Mansour Shayegan, Princeton University, USA
  24. Charles Simon, LNCMI/CNRS, Grenoble/Toulouse, France
  25. Seigo Tarucha, RIKEN & University of Tokyo, Japan
  26. Qi-kun Xue, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  27. Hong-qi Xu, Peking University, China
  28. Ning Wang, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  29. Dieter Weiss, Universität Regensburg, Germany
  30. Jochen Wosnitza, HLD, Dresden, Germany
  31. Ursula Wurstbauer, Universität Münster, Germany
  32. Fu-chun Zhang University of CAS, Beijing, China
  33. Dmitri Yakovlev, TU Dortmund, Germany
  34. Michael Zudov, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, USA

Organization Committee

  1. Adam Babiński, University of Warsaw, Poland (chair)
  2. Tomasz Kazimierczuk, University of Warsaw, Poland (secretary)
  3. Joanna Ciesielska, University of Warsaw, Poland (co-secretary)
  4. Johannes Binder, University of Warsaw, Poland
  5. Piotr Kossacki, University of Warsaw, Poland
  6. Maciej Molas, University of Warsaw, Poland
  7. Izabela Grzegory, Institute of High Pressure Physics, PAS
  8. Marek Potemski, LNCMI, Grenoble, France
  9. Grzegorz Karczewski, Institute of Physics, PAS
  10. Clement Faugeras, LNCMI/CNRS, Grenoble, France
  11. Duncan Maude, LNCMI/CNRS, Toulouse, France